Vegan Caesar Salad

One of my all-time favorite summer meals is a fresh Caesar salad.

Now being vegan, I will have to find new ways of making it. I didn’t use anchovies before, but I did use eggs in my dressing recipe. And the fresh parmesan cheese is something I will miss!  But with the plethora of great recipes out there for vegan cheeses, it should work out well.

My sister, who also recently decided to try a vegan lifestyle and who also loves Caesar salads, found this recipe for vegan parmesan cheese:

http://www.veggieful.com/2012/08/vegan-parmesan-cheese-recipe.html

Here is the recipe I will be adapting for the dressing (from http://www.cooks.com):

CAESAR SALAD DRESSING
1 tsp. salt
3 eggs
1 1/2 tsp. sugar
3/4 tsp. dry mustard
3 tsp. lemon juice
1 tsp. Parmesan cheese
4-6 cloves crushed garlic
6 tsp. wine vinegar
1 c. plus 2 tbsp. oil
6 drops Tabasco sauce
6 drops Worcestershire sauce
3 tbsp. olive oil

Mix in blender and refrigerate.

I’ll try simply removing the eggs and adding an avocado instead for creaminess, then nutritional yeast instead of the parmesan cheese. My sister tried vegenaise and said it’s great instead of the eggs:

http://followyourheart.com/vegenaise-eggless-mayonnaise/

They say it only takes 2 weeks to get used to something new.  I can’t even imagine how milk would taste in my lattes anymore now that I use a soy/rice milk mixture instead.

Looking forward to the many more changes coming my way as I continue my journey into the vegan lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

